December 30, 2007


Continuing their 30th Anniversary in fine style, Greensleeves presents the ‘Rewind & Come Again’ box set.

Packed in special a die-cut card box (designed to look like a turntable) with each 7” sporting the original old school labels..

Each 7” has two classic cuts (Double A sides) from the Greensleeves archive featuring tracks by legends such as: Wailing Souls, Eek-a-Mouse, Yellowman, Black Uhuru, John Holt, Barrington Levy, Dennis Brown, Gregory Isaacs and many more..

Limited to 1000 copies, first come first served

December 07, 2007


Although their own website doesn't mention this release yet, Soundway is about to release a 2 cd/4 lp set called:
Nigeria Special: Modern Highlife, Afro sounds & Nigerian Blues 1970-6

If the standard is as high as all the other Soundway releases, this might very well be the definitive collection on Nigerian funk. It sure looks promising! posted the setlist a while ago and added soundsamples as well. According to them, this is what Nigeria Special is going to look and sound like:

Disc 1:
1. Ayamma - The Anambra Beats
2. Okwukwe Na Nchekwube - Celestine Ukwu & His Philosophers National
3. Amalinja - The Don Isaac Ezekiel Combination
4. Akula Owu Onyeara - The Funkees
5. Oja Omoba - Dele Ojo & His Star Brothers Band
6. Koma Mosi - The Harbours Band
7. Nekwaha Semi Colon - The Semi Colon
8. Osalobua Rekpama - Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestros
9. Onwu Ama Dike - St. Augustine & His Rovers Dance Band
10. Feso Jaiye - The Sahara All Stars Of Jos
11. Eme Kowa Iasa Ile Wa - Mono Mono
12. To Whom It May Concern - Tunji Oyelana & The Benders
13. Ugali - The Tony Benson Sextet

Disc 2:
1. Asiko Mi Ni - The Nigerian Police Force Band 'The Force 7'
2. Torri Wow - Godwin Ezike & the Ambassadors
3. Belema - Opotopo (Easy Kabaka Brown)
4. Alabeke - Dan Satch & His Atomic 8 Dance Band Of Aba
5. Arraino - Popular Cooper & His All Beats Band
6. Simini-Yaya - Collins Oke Elaiho & His Odoligie Nobles Dance Band
7. Buroda Mase - Bola Johnson & His Easy Life To pBeats
8. I Want a Break Thru - The Hykkers
9. Business Before Pleasure - George Akaeze & His Augmented Hits
10. Omo Yen Wu Mi - Shadow Abraham With Mono Mono Friends
11. Blak Sound - Leo Fadaka & the Heroes
12. Eguae Oba - Osayomore Joseph & the Creative 7
13. Akpaisong - Etubom Rex Williams & His Nigerian Artistes

Go have listen.

Release date: february 5th

Big One!