July 18, 2009

New reggae release: Queen Ifrica - Welcome To Montego Bay (VP)

One of the top conscious female reggae stars of the moment, Queen Ifrica has released her second album (on cd and vinyl, although with a different tracklist) last month on VP records. Last years debut, called Fyah Mumma was already a strong album, including the big hit Below the Waist, and this new recording brings us more massive cultural reggae tunes. Born Ventrice Morgan (Daughter to Jamaican Legend Derrick Morgan), began her career in 1995 after shining at a local talent contest in her hometown of Montego Bay, Jamaica. This led to major stage performances in her country including the esteemed Reggae Sumfest as well as a union with Tony Rebel's Flames Crew in 1998. The new album, Welcome to Montego Bay features 13 songs (14 on vinyl), mixing spiritual anthems, lover's rock tunes and social commentaries. Including her hit tune about child molestation Daddy (produced by Kemar McGregor). Althoughy my lock it down-buddy CS really dislikes this new album, the tunes Don't Sign (Moviestar riddim, produced by Donovan Germain) and Keep it to Yourself (Secrets riddim, produced by Donovan Bennet) work pretty ok for me.......(But yeh..it doesn't get as good as on Fyah Mumma....)
Check her Myspace here for soundsamples.
01. T.T.P.N.C (cd only)
02. Montego Bay

03. Coconut Shell
04. Lioness On The Rise
05. Yad To The East
06. Far Away
07. Don't Sign
08. Daddy
09. Keep It To Yourself
10. Calling Africa
11. In My Dreams
12. Streets Are Bloody13. Daddy (Spanish Version) (CD only)14. Fyah Red ft Gentleman (LP only)15. Vibes ft Shaggy (LP only)16. Child Slavery (LP only)


cold sweat said...

I found this release, after the huge "Fyah Mumma" album, very dissapointing, actually. Way too mellow and too much guitar on there.

Collette said...

Love the album. Favourite song Track #2 Montego Bay (You'd have to live or have lived in Montego Bay to be able to identify with it)....LOVE IT